The Government has decided to continue the restrictions on entry at external borders and tighten the health measures as of 20 December 2021 until 16 January 2022:


  • Travelers from third countries are required to present a negative COVID-19 test certificate issued less than 48 hours before their arrival in addition to proof of a full vaccination cycle. The restriction does not apply to persons living in Finland or another EU or Schengen country when they return to their country of residence, nor to persons who have an essential reason for entry. 


  • People may enter Finland from the EU and Schengen countries without any travel restrictions as before.


  • Special restrictions to southern African countries will be lifted 

Entry into Finland is permitted without restrictions for residents of countries and regions on the EU’s green list.