The Irish Government is currently advising to avoid all non-essential travels from the countries and areas listed below: 

  • Botswana

  • Eswatini

  • Lesotho

  • Mozambique

  • Namibia

  • South Africa

  • Zimbabwe

A limited number of exemptions to the above  will apply, such as:

  • diplomats and those with diplomatic immunity

  • transport workers (traveling in the course of performing their duties)

  • Irish and EU citizens and their family members

  • UK citizens

  • those with a right of residence in Ireland (or right to free movement within the EU)