Arriving in Portugal by plane:


Essential and non-essential travel is allowed for:


  • Countries of the European Union

  • Schengen Associated countries (Liechtenstein, Norway, Iceland, Switzerland)

  • Brazil

  • USA

  • UK

  • Saudi Arabia

  • Argentina

  • Australia

  • Bahrain

  • Canada

  • Chile

  • Colombia

  • South Korea

  • UAE

  • Indonesia

  • Kuwait

  • New Zealand

  • Peru

  • Qatar

  • Republic Popular in China

  • Rwanda

  • Uruguay

  • Administrative regions of Hong Kong and Macau, and Taiwan.


All passengers are required to have a negative test result for all flights arriving in Portugal, including those who have a digital vaccination certificate, regardless of the point of origin of the flight or the passenger's nationality.


Requirements :


  • RT-PCR Test (or similar NAAT test) - 72h before boarding, or
    Rapid Antigen Test - 48h before boarding, or a valid EU Digital COVID Certificate

  • Children under 12 do not need to present a test.

  • All passengers need to fill a Passenger Locator Card (individually) before departure to Portugal or on board at

  • A valid recovery certificate issued by a third country, under reciprocal conditions: Albania, Andorra, Armenia, Switzerland, El Salvador, Faroe Islands, Georgia, Israel, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Moldova, Monaco, Morocco, New Zealand, North Macedonia, Norway, Panama, San Marino, Serbia, Singapore, Togo, Turkey, Ukraine, United Kingdom, The Vatican


Passengers from Southern Africa


Flights from the countries listed below are suspended.

  • South Africa

  • Botswana

  • Essuatini 

  • Lesotho

  • Mozambique

  • Namibia 

  • Zimbabwe


All passengers from the countries listed above or who present a passport with check-out in the 14 days before they arrive in Portugal must complete a 14 days quarantine at home or in a place indicated by the health authorities.


These passengers must undergo RT-PCR test (TAAN) or Rapid Antigen test (TRAGg) to COVID-19 upon arrival at the airport. These measures are also applicable to citizens who enter the national territory by sea or land, with the necessary adaptations.


Arriving Portugal by Land:


Citizens from EU countries are not considered high risk and must hold a COVID EU Digital Certificate in the form of vaccination, test, or recovery.


Citizens from countries outside the EU and from EU countries considered to have a red or dark red risk level must present:


- EU Covid Digital Certificate in test or recovery modes, or
- Negative RT-PCR test performed in the last 72 hours, or
- Rapid negative antigen test performed within the last 48 hours

Information on EU countries' risk level:


Cross-border workers who carry out their profession within 30km from the border and essential workers must present the Digital Certificate in the modalities of vaccination, test, or recovery.


Citizens from the countries listed below must undergo RT-PCR test (TAAN) or Rapid Antigen test (TRAGg) to COVID-19 and comply with 14 days of prophylactic isolation at home or in a place indicated by health authorities.

  • South Africa

  • Botswana

  • Essuatini

  • Lesotho

  • Mozambique

  • Namibia 

  • Zimbabwe


Arriving Portugal by Sea:


Same rules as arriving by air apply.