The Ministry of Foreign Affairs recommends that special caution be exercised when traveling to the EU and Schengen area and traveling to Brazil, South Africa, and India are to be avoided. The government has decided to continue the internal border controls and restrictions on external border traffic until 11 July 2021.


However, the control of the internal border control will be lifted. From 21 June 2021, traveling from EU and Schengen countries to Finland is possible if the travelers: 

  • have received an approved Covid-19 vaccination

  • have recovered from Covid-19 less than six months ago

  • Need to travel due to employment

Finland has released the border control for Poland and Hungary based on the recent epidemiological risk assessment. However, except for the situations mentioned above, the border control for the rest of the EU and Schengen countries remains unchanged.


Regarding external border control, traveling from the following countries is possible according to the epidemiological risk assessment: 

  • Monaco

  • Romania

  • San Marino 

  • Vatican

  • Australia

  • South Korea

  • Israel

  • Singapore

  • Rwanda

  • New Zealand

For the rest of the third countries, the entry restrictions will be in place until 11 July 2021.