Internal border control


The government decided to continue the current internal border control from 12 to 25 July as a transitional period. It allows for the health safety measures at the border to be well prepared and introduced.  After this transitional period, the internal border control and entry restrictions will be lifted. 


The internal border control will be lifted for Lithuania, Finland, Slovenia, and Switzerland according to the Covid-19 risk assessment. 


Work-related travel or travel for other essential reasons are also permitted. Additionally, internal border travel will also be allowed  if 


  • You are fully vaccinated for Covid-19 at least two weeks after the last dose of the vaccine. 

  • You are fully recovered from Covid-19 less than six months before entry


Travelers with only a certificate of a negative Covid-19 test result or partially vaccinated are not permitted to enter Finland if they are from the countries which are still on the restriction list.


External border control


The external border control will remain until 22 August 2021. The entry restriction will not apply to the following countries: 


From 12 July: due to low risk

Azerbaijan, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brunei, Kosovo, Moldova, Serbia, Bulgaria, Romania, San Marino and the Vatican, Albania, Australia, Hong Kong, Israel, Japan, Macao, North Macedonia, New Zealand, Singapore, South Korea, and Taiwan


From 26 July: based on EU recommendations

Andorra, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Ireland, Monaco, Romania, San Marino, and the Vatican