Entry from the EU and the Schengen Area, as well as Great Grain and Israel, is permitted. 

Travelers from the area mentioned above can enter Italy without compulsory quarantine provided a negative Covid-19 test is presented. Upon arrival in Italy, travelers must show a certificate of negative Covid-19 swab test taken within 48 hours after their arrival.



The restrictions towards Brazil are extended until 30 July 2021.


India, Bangladesh, and Sri Lanka

People traveling from India, Bangladesh, and Sri Lanka or those who have been in these countries in the previous 14 days are prohibited from entering Italy. The restrictions have been extended to 30 May 2021.


Japan, Canada, and the United States added to List D

Besides the existing countries, Australia, New Zealand, Rwanda, the Republic of Korea, Singapore, Thailand, Japan, Canada, and the United States have been considered low epidemiological risk areas and added to List D. 


Entry from the countries in List D is permitted without a specific reason. The negative Covid-19 test and the quarantine requirements are, however, still necessary.


'Covid-tested' flights

Italy extends the travels of 'Covid-tested' flights. The passengers on Covid-tested flights must take a molecular or antigen test before departure and, if the result is negative, upon arrival at their destination, they are authorized to enter and travel in Italy without having to comply with health surveillance and isolation where otherwise required. 


Until now, Covid-tested flights only covered routes between the United States and Italy, but the new ordinance includes departures from Canada, Japan, and the United Arab Emirates.

The ordinances are effective from 16 May 2021 to 31 July 2021.