Mandatory quarantine for travelers from countries with Delta coronavirus variant


From 15 June 2021, people traveling to the Netherlands from the following countries must go into quarantine on arrival.


  • United Kingdom

  • Bangladesh

  • Myanmar

  • Nepal


The countries above are considered high-risk countries due to the Delta variant of coronavirus. Violation of the quarantine requirement may result in a fine of EUR 339. 


Current travel situation 

People from safe countries are allowed to travel to the Netherlands, and the EU travel ban does not apply in this case. Therefore, there is no need for negative test results or self-quarantine.


The following countries are considered as ‘Safe countries’ with low COVID-19 risk:


Safe countries within the EU/Schengen area

  • Austria (from 10 June onwards)

  • Bulgaria

  • Czech Republic (from 10 June onwards)

  • Finland

  • France: the island Corsica only

  • Germany (from 10 June onwards)

  • Hungary

  • Iceland

  • Ireland

  • Italy, including Sicily (from 10 June onwards)

  • Greece (the North Aegean Region and the Ionian Islands Region only)

  • Luxembourg (from 10 June onwards)

  • Malta

  • Norway (including Oslo and the country of Agder from 10 June onwards)

  • Portugal (including the Azores and Madeira)

  • Poland (from 10 June onwards)

  • Romania 

  • Slovakia (from 10 June onwards)

  • Spain: the Balearic Islands and the Canary Islands only


Safe countries outside the EU/Schengen area

  • Australia

  • China (mainland China, Hong Kong, Macau). Only if China lifts entry restrictions on European travelers. Travelers from China are not required to present a negative COVID-19 test declaration.

  • Israel

  • Japan (From 10 June onward)

  • New Zealand

  • Rwanda

  • San Marino (From 10 June onward)

  • Singapore

  • South Korea

  • Thailand

  • Vatican City (from 10 June onwards)


Safe countries within the Kingdom of the Netherlands

  • Aruba

  • Bonaire

  • Curaçao

  • Saba

  • St Eustatius

  • St Maarten