The number of infections and hospitalizations in the Netherlands is sinking significantly due to the Covid-19 vaccination. The government expects that everyone who wants to get vaccinated will have the first dose by mid-July.  With the positive sign of the situation, the government has decided to introduce the Step 4 reopening plan as of 26 June 2021: 

The obligation to keep a safe distance of 1.5 meters remains. 

  • The lifting of restrictions on opening hours for restaurants, cafes, bars, shops, venues for art and culture, recreation and sports, etc.

  • Face mask requirement dripped in most situations

  • No maximum number of visitors at home

  • No maximum group size indoor and outdoor

  • Work at the office for no more than 50% of regular hours

  • Free coronavirus test for people traveling abroad

Current travel situation 

Safe countries within the EU/Schengen area

There are no requirements for negative tests or self-quarantine if traveling from the countries mentioned below. A health declaration form must be completed for air travel.  

  • Austria 

  • Belgium, apart from the Brussels-Capital Region (from 24 June onwards) 

  • Bulgaria

  • Croatia: until 24 June: the whole country of Croatia, apart from the Sjeverna Hrvatska region including Zagreb

 from 24 June onwards: the whole country of Croatia

  • Cyprus 

  • Czech Republic

  • Estonia (from 24 June onwards)

  • Finland

  • France: until 24 June: the island Corsica only

 from 24 June onwards: the whole country of France

  • Germany

  • Greece: the South Aegean Region 

  • Hungary

  • Iceland

  • Ireland

  • Italy, including Sicily 

  • Greece: until 24 June: the North Aegean Region and the Ionian Islands Region only

  from 24 June onwards: the whole country Greece apart from Athens

  • Liechtenstein

  • Lithuania (from 24 June onwards) 

  • Luxembourg

  • Malta

  • Norway 

  • Portugal (including the Azores and Madeira)

  • Poland

  • Romania

  • Slovakia 

  • Slovenia (from 24 June onwards) 

  • Spain: the Balearic Islands and the Canary Islands only

  • Switzerland

High-risk area

If you are traveling from one of the high-risk areas, a 10-day self-quarantine is mandatory as well as providing a negative Covid-19 test result. The health declaration form must be completed for air travel. The following countries are considered high risk:

  • Argentina

  • Bangladesh 

  • Bolivia

  • Brazil

  • Chile

  • Colombia

  • Dominican Republic

  • Ecuador

  • French Guiana

  • Guyana

  • India

  • Myanmar 

  • Nepal 

  • Pakistan 

  • Panama

  • Paraguay

  • Peru

  • South Africa

  • Suriname

  • United Kingdom 

  • Uruguay 

  • Venezuela