Entering Spain from a Schengen country will fall under the current rules listed below:


All passengers with an EU COVID-19 certificate will receive a “fast control QR code” after completing the health control form before their departure. The “fast control QR code” will allow them to speed up the health checks as the passengers will not be required to show the certificate either at the time of boarding or at the health check on arrival. 


Travelers arriving from an EU/EEA country that is not on the list are not subject to diagnostic tests, nor must they provide a certificate of vaccination or immunity. However, if you enter Spain by air, sea, or land from an area included in the following list, the requirements listed below are applicable. Children under the age of 12 are exempted. 


  • Certificate of vaccination issued by the respective authority. The certificate will be valid after 14 days from the date the last vaccination has been received to complete the full vaccination schedule. Only those vaccines are accepted which have been approved (currently Pfizer-Biontech, Moderna, Astra-Zeneca, Jansen/Johnson & Johnson, Sinovac, and Sinopharm) by the WHO and European Medicines Agency. 


  • Certificate of recovery from COVID-19 issued by the competent authorities. The certificate is valid between 11 and 180 days from the first diagnostic test (PCR, TMA, LAMP, or similar) with a positive result.


  • Diagnostic certificate: a negative PCR or PCR-like test (NAAT type), or a negative antigen test of those included in the common list of the European Commission, issued within 48 hours before arrival in Spain.


All documents listed above shall be provided and accepted only in Spanish, English, French, or German. 


If it is not possible to produce the document in the languages mentioned above, it must be translated into Spanish by an official authority. 


Mandatory travel documents:


If you travel by air, you must complete and sign the form electronically before arriving in Spain. The QR code received must be presented upon arrival. A separate document needs to be completed for each traveler and trip. If you travel by sea, the form will be provided during the trip or upon arrival at the port destination in Spain. If you travel by land, there is currently no requirements to present this form. 


Third-country nationals are currently restricted to enter Spain unless they fall under one of the following exemptions;


  • Habitual residents in the European Union, Schengen Associated States, Andorra, Monaco, The Vatican (Holy See), or San Marino go to that country, proving it with documentation. 

  • Holders of a long-term visa issued by a Member State or Schengen Associated State who are going to that country.

  • Health professionals, including health researchers and elderly care professionals who go to or return from exercising their work activity.

  • Transport, marine, and aeronautical personnel necessary to carry out air transport activities.

  • Diplomatic, consular, international, military, civil protection, and members of humanitarian organizations, exercising their functions.

  • Students who carry out their studies in the Member States or Schengen Associated States. The students are required to hold a valid permit or long-term visa for their country of destination. If they plan to stay in Spain and the duration of the stay is up to 90 days the student is required to prove that the studies are held in an authorized teaching center, registered in the corresponding administrative registry, following a full-time program during this phase and in-person, and that leads to obtaining a degree or study certificate.

  • Highly qualified workers 

  • Persons traveling for duly accredited imperative family reasons 

  • People who travel for reasons of force majeure or need, or whose entry is allowed for humanitarian reasons, proving it with documentation.

  • Residents of the following areas 

    • Albania

    • Australia

    • Israel

    • Japan

    • Lebanon

    • New Zealand

    • Republic of North Macedonia

    • Rwanda

    • Serbia

    • Singapore

    • South Korea

    • Thailand

    • United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland

    • United States of America

    • China

II. Special Administrative Regions of the People's Republic of China

  • Hong Kong SAR

  • Macao SAR

III. Entities and territorial authorities not recognized as States by at least one Member State

  • Taiwan


Assuming that all travelers are coming directly from these areas and have transited exclusively through areas within the list or have carried out only international transits in airports located in countries that do not appear in the list. All residents of China, Hong Kong SAR, and Macao SAR are due to reciprocity. 


All travelers who do not fulfill the COVID-19 requirements set out by the Ministry of Health will not be allowed to enter Spain.